I wasn't sure whether to direct this specifically about African Americans or not (for me, those are the only kinds of Black people I know en masse! )... so, please answer based on whatever is most comfortable to you!
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .