Skip to main content

National Black Peoples Unity Convention-March 9-12

National Black Peoples Unity Convention to Convene In Gary, Indiana, March 9-12

Does anybody know anything about this?

Confirmed conference participants include political activists such as: Harry
Belafonte, Dick Gregory, former U.S. Labor Secretary Alexis Herman, the Reverend
Jesse Jackson of Operation PUSH, former Southern Christian Leadership Conference(SCLC)leader the Reverend Joseph Lowery, the President & CEO of the National Action Network, the Reverend Al Sharpton, SCLC President Charles Steele and the Honorable Mary Francis Berry, former Chair of the U. S. Commission on Civil Rights.From the business community, General Motors Vice President Roderick Gillum

Also confirmed as participants are organization leaders such as: New national NAACP
President & CEO Bruce Gordon, Joseph Leonard, Executive Director of the National
Black Leadership Forum, the Honorable Mary Coleman, Chair of the National Black
Caucus of State legislators, Reginald Weaver, President of the National Education
Association, Lezli Baskerville, President of the National Association for Equal
Opportunity in Higher Education (NAFEO), Dr. Major Jemison of the Progressive
Baptist Convention, Ted Shaw of the NAACK Legal Defense Fund, and Dr. Ronald
Walters, Director of the African American Leadership Institute at the University of

Dr. Dorothy Height, President Emeritus of the National Council of Negro Women, will
serve as the Convention's Honorary Chair.

Former Gary Mayor Richard Hatcher, who co-chaired the 1972 Gary Convention and is one of the three co-chairs for this year's meeting, said, "This meeting presents a rare opportunity for us to talk among ourselves. The shocking disaster of Hurricane Katrina is a sobering reminder that poverty and racism still takes a deadly toll on our communities."

Once again, the convention site will be the West Side High School in Gary, just as it
was 34 years ago. The 2006 theme is "POLICIES FOR EMPOWERMENT: A Struggle
for a New Economic Order."

Convention Co-Chair William Lucy, President of the Coalition of Black Trade Unionists
(CBTU) and International Secretary-Treasurer of the American Federation of State,
County & Municipal Employees (AFSCME), summed up the mission of this convention:
"The broad aim of this convention is to bring together the collective wisdom,
creativity and resources in our community, to map out a bold economic agenda that
will unite us in communities of color across the nation."

Members of the convention's founding executive committee include: Paul Brock, of
News & Information Management Systems (NIMS); Clayola Brown, President of the A.
Phillips Randolph Institute and Vice President of the UNITE - HERE labor organization;
the Honorable David Cunningham, Los Angeles businessman and former LA City
Councilman; the Honorable Harold Ford, Sr., from Tennessee; Ernest Green, a
Managing Director of Lehman Brothers and a one of the "Little Rock Nine";
Tony Harrison, a Washington, DC consultant; Virtual Murrell, a Principal of The
Pegasus Group; Miriam Poe of the United Auto Workers; and Dr. Ronald Walters of the
University of Maryland.

Truth is undoubtedly the sort of error that cannot be refuted because it was hardened into an unalterable form in the long baking process of history... Michel Foucault Hope begets many children illegitimately and prematurely. Allie M. Frazier Beware the terrible simplifiers... Jacob Burckhardt

Original Post