By the way Faheem I did verify some of these rumours. I read a book on Malcolm X that talked about his meetings with Klan members. At the time I too was afraid to look even further so I stopped reading.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .